Commissioner - Jody M. Cole

Appointed February, 2016

Current term expires: 01/01/2022

Email: Commissioner Cole

Watch recorded Facebook Live Meetings HERE.

At this time, no one has filed for Garnett City Commission and the deadline to file is coming soon.

The City Commission seat currently held by Brigitte Brecheisen-Huss is up for election. Persons interested in filing for this position must do so by 12:00 p.m. (noon) on June 1, 2020. Please see information in the article, below.

Commissioner - Greg A. Gwin

Elected April, 2007 

Current term expires: 01/01/2023

Email: Commissioner Gwin

Garnett has a City Commission / City Manager form of government.  While the commission governs the city, the city manager oversees the daily operations of all departments.  The commission consists of three members, a mayor and two commissioners.  Current City Commission consists of Mayor Brigitte Brecheisen-Huss, Commissioner Jody M. Cole, and Commissioner Greg A. Gwin. Current ACHS Youth in Government Representative is Zachary Barnes. City staff include City Manager Christopher Weiner, City Clerk, Travis Wilson, and Terry J. Solander, City Attorney.

JOIN US: City Commission Meetings are held at 6:00 pm on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at Garnett City Hall, 131 West 5th Avenue, Garnett, Kansas.

Commission meeting agendas, minutes, supporting documents and audio.

Mayor - Brigitte Brecheisen-Huss  -  Elected November 2017 

Current term expires: 01/01/2021

Email: Commissioner Brecheisen-Huss

Meet Your Commission


filing deadline is monday, june 1, 2020

Simply...Garnett, Kansas

Do you have the desire to lead your community?

If you are interested in running for Garnett City Commissioner, please note the following requirements:

  • Must be a resident of Garnett, Kansas.
  • Must be a registered voter.
  • File with the office of the County Clerk at Anderson County Courthouse, 100 E. Fourth Avenue by noon on June 1, 2020.  Due to Covid-19, the courthouse is temporarily closed and departments are open by appointment. Please call 785.448.6841 for assistance.
  • Pay a filing fee of $20.

‚ÄčINTERESTED IN SERVING?  The City of Garnett Commission meets the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 6:00 p.m. Additionally, special meetings, as well as joint city/county meetings, are held throughout the year at times and dates to be determined. City commissioners are required to attend all meetings as necessary to carry out the business of the city.  The current salary for serving as a Garnett City Commissioner is $450 per month.  The mayor receives $500 per month.

NEXT ELECTION:  Elections will be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2020, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For more information please contact Garnett City Hall, 785-448-5496.